Farm Fresh Eggs

I visited a friend’s farm the other day. It’s funny because I am more thrilled over getting farm fresh eggs than probably most girls around. A day spent at someone’s farm is more exciting to me than buying a new dress (and anyone who knows me knows I looooove buying new dresses).

After “egg hunting,” we returned inside and washed off the eggs. Next, we packaged them into recycled egg cartons. On my way out the door, I was handed a few dozen eggs as a parting gift. What a serendipitous day!

IMG_8816

 

 

IMG_8820.JPG

 

xoxo Rachel

7 thoughts on “Farm Fresh Eggs

  1. I love farm fresh eggs. I have a friend who has several chickens. She usually brings in eggs once a week where we both work. I like to be in the front of the line. Glad you were given such a delicious gift.

  2. Love the look and colors of fresh eggs, how does the taste compare? Is there a noticeable difference between those and store bought?

    • Terry, I am so glad you asked this! There is a an extremely noticeable difference between farm fresh eggs and store bought eggs. First off, store bought eggs are not as fresh because travel time and pasteurization time are factored in. Second of all, the eggs I got from my friend’s farm come from several different chicken breeds. Most store bought eggs are from either one or two breeds (at most). Believe it or not, it is the breed of chicken which creates different colored eggs. Some people argue the color of the egg detonates a better or worse nutritional value; this is false. In reality, it is the way the chickens are raised that affects the nutritional value. Since the chickens are free range, and they eat a healthy and nutritious diet, the eggs taste better! I always notice the yolks of a farm fresh egg are a rich deep yellow, almost orange, color. These eggs are also very dense. Store bought eggs tend to have a higher water content, and a less vibrant yolk. All in all, this makes a dramatic difference in taste. Furthermore, it affects cooking and baking significantly. I hope I answered your question!! Thanks so much for commenting! 🙂

Cottage comments make my day! Please share your thoughts with me, darling.

