Homemade Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream

20140725-145936-53976238.jpg

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough ice cream is quite a common flavor these days – but only thanks to an anonymous suggestion to Ben & Jerry’s in 1991. Since then, virtually every ice cream parlor has the iconic “chocolate chip cookie dough.”

Several people are scared off by the thought of making homemade ice cream, but I assure you, there is nothing to fret over. It’s actually really, really, easy. I promise. I also promise you that all your dinner party guests will be begging you for the name of the NYC ice cream parlor you ordered it from…it’s that good.

xoxo Rachel

Screen Shot 2014-07-25 at 3.10.23 PM

6 thoughts on “Homemade Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream

  1. Looks delicious!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I like America’s test kitchen. My husband bought me one of their books a couple years ago. I will give this a try.

    • Thank you! They really do offer fantastic recipes, with step-by-step instructions. I definitely recommend any of their cookbooks, and their Saturday TV program on PBS.

  2. I’ve found that homemade icecream has a different consistency from store bought, its more watery and thin, not as thick and creamy. Is that a matter of ingredients or preparation? From your picture it seems to have come out great!

    • My homemade ice creams are always rich and creamy! It certainly is credited to the ingredients! If you make a custard base the ice cream will be very rich and creamy. The key is the eliminate as much air as possible, and use ingredients with a high fat content and low water content.

Cottage comments make my day! Please share your thoughts with me, darling.

