Chocolate Ice Cream

I really enjoy a nice creamy cup of ice cream.

an example of the sort of over-the-top elaborate sundaes I create for my brothers when they come over...yes...they are WAY too spoiled!

But being the chocolate aficionado I am, it is very difficult to find “quality” chocolate ice cream. Recently, I have been taking out my ice cream maker and have been making all sorts of ice cream, and I must say, all of them have turned out fantastic! But so far, my favorite ice cream I have made is the good old-fashioned chocolate.

look @ it! it just screams chocolate heaven!

Chocolate Ice Cream

Makes about 1 quart

1  1/2 cups whole milk
1  1/2 cups heavy cream
3/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
8 ounces semi-sweet or bittersweet chocolate (melted and then cooled)
4 large egg yolks

1. Set a fine-mesh strainer over a medium bowl and set the bowl in a larger container of ice water. Heat the milk, cream, 1/2 cup of sugar, and vanilla extract, in a medium saucepan over medium heat, stirring occasionally to dissolve the sugar, until steam appears and the milk is hot (175 degrees), about 5 minutes.

2. When the milk mixture is hot, in a separate bowl, whisk the egg yolks, melted chocolate, and remaining 1/4 cup of sugar together until smooth. Slowly whisk about 1 cup of the hot milk mixture into the egg yolks (to temper). Then, slowly whisk the tempered egg yolks back into the remaining hot milk. Continue to cook the custard over medium heat until it is very hot but not simmering (180 to 185 degrees).

3. Strain the custard into the bowl set in the ice bath and let cool, stirring occasionally, for about 10 minutes. Remove the custard bowl from the ice bath, cover tightly with plastic wrap, and refrigerate until completely chilled, about 3 hours.

4. When chilled, stir the custard thoroughly, then pour into the ice cream machine canister. Churn, following the manufacturer’s instructions, until the mixture resembles soft-serve ice cream. Transfer the ice cream to an airtight container and press plastic wrap flush against the surface. Cover the container and freeze until the ice cream is firm.

* Recipe taken from The America’s Test Kitchen Family Cookbook

xoxo Rachel

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: Healthy Chocolate Soft-Serve | Rachel's Cottage House

  2. Thank you for the recipe.
    I made chocolate ice cream for my son and used cocoa powder as well as bar chocolate.
    He hated it!
    he said it tasted like the yucky kind of hot chocolate

    this looks like the perfect tempered custard recipe I was looking for

    Will update with results
    Devin Thomas
    Mutts and Butts BBQ

    • I am so pleased you found a recipe that you are looking for! I assure you that this is uber creamy and very rich. I think you will get the kind of ice cream you want. Please let me know how it turns out!! I’d love to hear about what your son thought!

Cottage comments make my day! Please share your thoughts with me, darling.

