Vegetable Soup

Have you ever wanted a delicious and nutritious warm meal, but didn’t know what to make? I think my vegetable soup is just what you need…

*This is also a great recipe to have on Fridays during Lent because there is no meat!

Vegetable Soup

Serves 6 to 8
Total Time: 55 minutes

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 onion, minced
2 ribs celery, chopped fine
2 carrots, peeled and chopped fine
2 garlic cloves, minced
Salt
5 cups low-sodium vegetable broth
2 medium russet potatoes (1 pound), scrubbed and chopped medium
1 (14.5 ounced) can diced tomatoes, drained
1 cup frozen peas, thawed
Pepper

1. Heat the oil in a large Dutch oven over medium-low heat until simmering. Stir in the onion, celery, carrots, garlic, and 3/4 teaspoon salt. Cover and cook, stirring occasionally, until the vegetables are very soft, about 20 minutes.

2. Stir in the broth, potatoes, and tomatoes. Bring to a simmer and cook until the potatoes are tender, about 15 minutes.

3. Off the heat, add the peas. Let the soup stand for 2 minutes. Season with salt and pepper to taste before serving.

To Make Ahead
This soup can be cooled, covered, and refrigerated for up to 3 days or frozen for up to 1 month. Reheat over low heat.

*Recipe directly taken from The America’s Test Kitchen Family Cookbook

xoxo Rachel

2 thoughts on “Vegetable Soup

  1. I’m a vegetarian and I am always looking for good soup recipes! You must have read my mind Rachel because just this morning I was thinking to myself at work…hmmm… what should I make today?

  2. Just like Amanda mentioned, I’ve been looking for a good soup recipe lately. I’m not a vegetarian, but I do celebrate Lent, and I’m in need of something meatless to change up my Friday nights; thanks Rachel!

Cottage comments make my day! Please share your thoughts with me, darling.

