Chocolate Crinkles

I was given this recipe from a friend, and at first I was skeptical; I’ll admit.  You see, I didn’t know if the cookie would turn out too crispy because of the name “crinkle.”  I feared the batter was too thick when I could barely even stir it.  But I had faith.  Why?  Because you can never lose faith when it comes to chocolate.  I was pleased in the end.  The result: magnificent.  They are easy to make, and absolutely spectacular.   The cookie is so moist and gooey on the insdie – the chocolate chips pour into you mouth like little volcanoes.  What more could I ask from a cookie like this?  Oh, how divine!

xoxo

Chocolate Crinkles

¾ C butter, melted
½ C unsweetened cocoa powder
1 C sugar
2 C all-purpose flour
1 t baking powder
1 t baking soda
½ t salt
2 large eggs
2 t vanilla
1 6-oz bag semisweet chocolate chips (about 1 ¼ C)
About ¾ C confectioner’s sugar for dusting

In a large bowl, mix the melted butter with the cocoa powder and sugar until well combined. In a medium-sized bowl, stir the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Using an electric mixer, beat the eggs and vanilla extract into the chocolate mixture. Slowly mix in the dry ingredients until combined. Stir in the chocolate chips. Cover and refrigerate the dough for at least 2 hours or overnight.

Preheat oven to 350. Roll the dough into 2 inch balls. Pour the confectioners’ sugar on a plate and roll each ball in the sugar.

Place the balls on an ungreased baking sheet, leaving 2 inches between them. Bake for 12 minutes, or until the cookies are set. Lay the baking sheet on a wire rack and cool for about 5 minutes; dust with more confectioners’ sugar if desired. Transfer the cookies to racks to cool thoroughly.

16 thoughts on “Chocolate Crinkles

  1. reminds me of my grandma’s. she made these alot when i was young. maybe, i’ll try to make these, or make someone else bake them for me. Smiles 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. Is there any way you can just send some of these my way? Or is it really that easy to make. Just like the person above, my family always made these growing up.

Cottage comments make my day! Please share your thoughts with me, darling.

