Chunky Tomato Sauce

If you know me well, then you’ll know I’m the pickiest person when it comes to tomato sauces.  There’s either 1 of 2 issues for me: 1.) the sauce is too acidic or 2.) the sauce is too sweet.  I have searched high and low for quality sauces, but haven’t found one suitable enough for my stuck-up tomato sauce taste buds.  Embarking on a new recipe journey that called for sauce, I opted to make my own – and it was worth it.  This sauce is not acidic, not too sweet, and not overpowering.  Plus, it came with a bonus – from start to finish it took only 25 minutes to make – now talk about love!  So try this recipe, you’ll love it forevermore!

xoxo

*Recipe taken from the America’s Test Kitchen Family Cookbook

Chunky Tomato Sauce

MAKES: 6 cups
START TO FINISH: 25 minutes

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 onion, minced
Salt
6 garlic cloves, minced
1 (28-ounce) can crushed tomatoes
1 (28-ounce) can diced tomatoes
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
1/8 teaspoon red pepper flakes
Pepper

Heat the oil in a large saucepan over medium heat until simmering. Add the onion and 1 teaspoon salt and cook until softened, about 5 minutes. Add the garlic and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Stir in the tomatoes with their juice, oregano, and red pepper flakes. Simmer until the sauce is slightly thickened, about 15 minutes. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

10 thoughts on “Chunky Tomato Sauce

    • Ha! I’m so glad someone can agree with me on the acidic aspect to most sauces! And don’t worry, this sauce certainly isn’t acidic. Thanks for the comment 🙂

    • Great question! If you can, use Hunts. The America’s Test Kitchen says they seem to be the best brand.

Cottage comments make my day! Please share your thoughts with me, darling.

