Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

The original recipe, titled Peanut Butter Oat Chippers was a recipe I found in a published work.  I liked the sound of it, but I thought I could change a few things around and make a lot more flavor.  So that’s exactly what I did.  I dove into it.  I had no clue how it would taste, what it would look like, or anything else for that matter.  But in the end it worked, so that’s all that matters.

Here is my updated version:

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon of Kosher salt
  • ¾ cup salted butter, softened (at room temperature)
  • ¾ cup chunky peanut butter ( I used Crazy Richards Chunky Peanut Butter from Krema Peanut Butter Company – it made all the difference)
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 2/3 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract (be generous with the measuring)
  • 3 ½ cups old-fashioned oats (just the little canister of Quaker Oats is what I use)
  • 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips ( I use Toll-House)

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 350F
  • In a bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt until well combined.  Set aside.
  • In a large bowl, using an electric mixer on medium speed, cream butter, peanut butter, granulated sugar, and brown sugar until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.  Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Beat in vanilla.  Scrape down sides of bowl.
  • On low speed or using a wooden spoon, gradually add flour mixture, beating until blended. DO NOT OVER MIX!  Gradually stir in oats.  By hand, fold in chocolate chips. DO NOT OVER MIX!
  • Using a cookie scoop or spoons, drop tablespoonfuls of dough about 2 inches apart on a baking sheet.  Bake for about 10-12 minutes until the cookies are a very light golden color.
  • Let cookies cool and enjoy!

* Salt discussion.  If it seems like there is too much salt it is because of the peanut butter.  This peanut butter is unsalted so it needed the salt, in my opinion, not only to enhance the peanut butter, but also the overall cookie.  Certainly if you have sodium restrictions you can reduce that amount by not adding salt or using unsalted butter instead of salted.  However, if you do not use Krema Peanut Butter, eliminate the extra 1/2 teaspoon of Kosher salt becuase then there really would be too much salt, and the cookies would not taste good.

xoxo

10 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Your recipes look sooooo good. When do you have the time to do all of this baking? Also, I have never seen this peanut butter before. Looks amazing, and i am sure tastes good too……;)

    • Thanks. The peanut butter is very good – absolutely PERFECT for baking. I find time to bake whenever I can.

  2. Hello, love your blog, and these look wonderful. Where do you get all of your recipes? Just wondering…. Oh, have a Happy and Healthy New Year

    • Like I mentioned in my post, this peanut butter chocolate chip cookie was in another published work. However, the version I typed here is altered to my liking. Thanks for enjoying my blog and recipes!

  3. Nice job with the cookies. once again, thanks for sharing your talents with us. Wish i could have had one. i guess i will have to bake soon.

Cottage comments make my day! Please share your thoughts with me, darling.

